Heavenly Hierarchy of The Reaper Series

Go ahead. Google ‘heavenly hierachy’.

It’s a mess isn’t it?

1,110,000 results.

No one agrees about who does what or is responsible for what or protects, overseas, exists who/what/where.

Much like Congress, if you want to know the truth.

It’s actually a miracle in itself anything EVER gets done…in Heaven or on Earth.

And do you know why that is? Because no one KNOWS the truth. It’s all part of the great mystery of life…and afterlife.

Except Congress. It’s a mystery for which there may be no more truth. But I digress…

Much of my Reaper Series research, background and inspiration came from one book:

Angels: An Endangered Species by Malcom Godwin

download (1)

I found just enough there to use as a springboard, bending those bits and pieces to my own god-like will and creating a world for my reapers.

As in any world, including our own immediate one, there are rules, bureaucracies and hierarchies. As much as we hate it, some are always at the top while others are on the bottom. My reapers are heavenly hosts, not quite angels but certainly not human either. They exist in the in-between but aspire to transcend to angelic status at the end of their journey.

Following Malcom Godwin’s example for my own fictional world, here’s what they have to look forward to:

Highest Triad

  1. Seraphim 2. Cherubim 3. Thrones

Middle Triad

4. Dominations 5. Virtues 6. Powers

Lowest Triad

7. Principalities 8. Archangels 9. Angels

The In-Between




Of course there is an equal but opposite hierarchy down below (Hell) as is above. Think Dante’s Circles of Hell. But more on that in another post.

The thing about this hierarchy is that the Divine Core (God) is the center and the light. The farther the heavenly hosts fan out from the center power, the farther they are from the Divine source of light and love.

I’m sure you can imagine all sorts of problems with that setup: miscommunications, failures of faith, bureaucracies.

For all things reaper in the first three books of the Reaper Series, our heroes are most concerned with the Powers in books one and two. Things get more complicated in book three and by book four…all bets are off. Heaven’s neat little caste system is about to be turned on its end as the threat from below grows stronger.

As long as there is good…there is evil: the great balancer of the universe.

The question is… Which will win in the end?

To get the whole story, start with Reap & Repent:

The only thing worse than having nothing to live for…is having everything to live for.

Reap & Repent: The Reapers Book One – Available Now!

Reap & Repent final revised (647x1024)Reap & Repent blurb

They see death. Can they share a life?

Ruth Scott can read the energy of every person she meets. Then she meets Deacon Walker. She can see his ice-blue eyes, his black hair, and his gorgeous face. But this beautiful stranger has no aura.

Deacon is just as unsettled by Ruth—and, having spent more than two hundred years ushering souls to Purgatory, Deacon is seldom shocked by anything. As he helps Ruth to understand her true nature, she awakens desires that he decided long ago a Reaper can’t afford.

A demon invasion forces Deacon to confront the darkness in his own past even as he fights to save the human souls he’s charged to protect. When he’s taken captive, his first concern is for Ruth. But Ruth just might be able to save herself—and the Reaper she can’t live without—if she can learn to wield her newfound powers.


2 Responses to Heavenly Hierarchy of The Reaper Series

  1. This is a really cool post! You make everything so clear and uncomplicated in the books, but I know the level or research that allowed you to do that must be crazy just from looking at this chart. You go, girl.